Complementary Methods in X-ray Spectroscopic, Structural, and Imaging Techniques

July 13-14, 2015 - Postponed until July 2016


  • This is the 4th edition in a series for Simultaneous Combination of Spectroscopies with X-ray Techniques.

    This workshop will provide an international platform for in-depth discussions of both the applications of, and instrumentation necessary for the near simultaneous combinations of several  in situ optical spectroscopies and X-ray methods.

    Scientific and technical talks will describe the exploitation of one or more techniques, including but not limited to

 - (polarized) electronic absorption (UV/Vis),
 - IR/FTIR, fluorescence, (resonance/polarized)
 - Raman spectroscopies

The samples would be probed by X-ray methods conducted at synchrotron and/or X-ray free electron laser sources.  The sessions will be of interest for 3 main scientific communities:

 - Structural Biology

Many synchrotron facilities worldwide offer some form of single-crystal spectroscopy for correlation with X-ray diffraction and crystallographic methods

 - Catalysis/Material Sciences

Optical and vibrational spectroscopies become possible to unravel molecular structures of reactants, transient states and reaction products absorbed on the catalytic surface.  The natural synergy between these techniques and synchrotron methods inspired scientists to combine both in one experimental setup, allowing to perform simultaneous in-situ measurements on the same sample under reaction conditions.

 - Imaging

Full field absorption-contrast imaging, scanning transmission X-ray microscopy and X-ray fluorescence microscopy provide morphological and structural information in 2D or 3D, allowing researchers to quickly peer inside a sample with resolution in the nanometer scale.


CMX 2015 Organizing Committee:
Allen M. Orville (Chair, BNL Upton, NY, USA:  amorv@bnl.gov)
Anatoly Frenkel (BNL, Yeshiva University, USA:  frenkel@bnl.gov)
Annie Héroux (BNL, Upton, NY, USA:  heroux@bnl.gov)
Eli Stavitski (BNL, Upton, NY, USA:  istavitski@bnl.gov)
Wouter Van Beek (ESRF Grenoble, France:  wouter@esrf.fr)
Erik Farquhar (Case Western Reserve University, USA:  efarquhar@bnl.gov)
Ryan Tappero (BNL, Upton, NY, USA:  rtappero@bnl.gov)
Robin Owen (Diamond Light Source, Oxfordshire, UK:  robin.owen@diamond.ac.uk)
Aina E. Cohen (SLAC Menlo Park, CA, USA:  acohen@slac.ctanford. edu)
Antoine Royant (ESRF Grenoble, France:  antoine.royant@esrf.fr)